KSMU Structure


Kursk State Medical University serves a student population of over 5,000. The teaching   body comprises  of 670 academic staff of which there are 343 Ph.D and 102 D.Sc aacademicians. The university consists of 14 faculties and 67 departments situated accross four academic buildings.

Within the structure of KSMU we also have a Research Institute of Ecological Medicine as well as a consulting diagnostic policlinic and medical institute. To date KSMU has trained over 25,000 medical professionals.

The University consists of the following structural subdivisions:

I. 14 faculties, 67 departments.

The Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology

·        The Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology of FPED

·        The Department of Human Anatomy

·        The Department of Anesthesiology, Reanimatology and Intensive Therapy of  FPED

·        The Department of Biology, Medical Genetics and Ecology

·        The Department of Biological and Chemical Technology

·        The Department of Biological Chemistry

·        The Department of Internal Diseases No.1

·        The Department of Internal Diseases No.2

·        The Department of Internal Diseases of  FPED

·        The Department of Histology, Embryology, Cytology

·        The Department of Dermatovenereology

·        The Department of Foreign Languages

·        The Department of Infectious Diseases and Epidemiology

·        The Department of Clinical Immunology and Allergology

·        The Department of Clinical Pharmacology

·        The Department of Latin Language and Basic Terminology

·        The Department of Radio Diagnostics and Therapy

·        The Department of Microbiology, Virology, Immunology

·        The Department of Neurology and Neurosurgery

·        The Department of General Hygiene

·        The Department of General and Clinical Psychology

·        The Department of Oncology

·        The Department of Operative Surgery and Topographic Anatomy named after Professor A.D. Myasnecov

·        The Department of Otorhinolaryngology

·        The Department of Ophthalmology

·        The Department of Pathological Anatomy

·        The Department of Pathological Physiology

·        The Department of Pedagogics

·        The Department of Pediatrics

·        The Department of Propaedeutics of Internal Diseases

·        The Department of Psychiatry

·        The Department of Psychiatry and Psychosomatics

·        The Department of Psychology of Health and Correctional Psychology

·        The Department of  Russian Language and Speech Culture

·        The Department of  Nursing Care

·        The Department of  Social Work

·        The Department of  Sports Medicine and Remedial Gymnastic

·        The Department of Forensic Medicine

·        The Department of  Pediatric Dentistry

·        The Department of  Traumatology and Orthopedics

·        The Department of  Management and Economy for Pharmacy

·        The Department of  Urology

·        The Department of  Pharmacognosy and Botany

·        The Department of Pharmacology

·        The Department of  Pharmaceutical Technology

·        The Department Of Pharmaceutical, Toxicological And Analytical Chemistry

·        The Department of  Pharmacy of  FPED

·        The Department of  Physics, Informatics and Mathematics

·        The Department of  Philosophy

·        The Department of  Phthisiopulmonology

·        The Department of Sports Medicine and Therapeutic Exercises

·       The department of surgical diseases of FPED

·        The Department of  Economics and Management

·        The Department of  Endocrinology

·        The Department of Biochemistry
II. Consulting and diagnostic polyclinic.

III. Research Institute of Ecological Medicine.

IV. Teaching and auxiliary subdivisions:.

1. Editing and publishing department.

2. Centre for information technologies of teaching.

3. Teaching and methodical administration.

4. Central methodical Council.

V. Administrative subdivisions:

  1.  Academic Council of the University,
  2. University administration.
  3. Dean’s offices.
  4. Interfaculty boards.
  5. Student clerical office.
  6. Staff administration patent group.
  7. Scientific and medical information department.
  8. Research sector.
  9. Departments of post-graduate training and clinical specialization.
  10. Economical activity administration.
  11. Administration for international relations.
  12. Other auxiliary departments.

VI. Socio-scientific subdivisions :

1. Central problem commission.

2. Scientific problem commissions.

3. Thesis council.

4. Young scientists’ council.

5. Student scientific society.
VII. Material and technical departments:

  1. vivarium
  2. Engineering group for medical equipment and metrology
  3. Campus service.

The University provides training in 10 specialties:

  1. General Medicine
  2. Pediatrics
  3. Medico-Prevention Management
  4. Stomatology
  5. Pharmacy (full-time and correspondence course)
  6. Clinical Psychology (full-time training)
  7. Nursing (full-time and correspondence training)
  8. Social work (full-time training and externship)
  9. Economics and Management at an Enterprise of Public Health (full-time and correspondence training, externship)
  10. Biotechnology (full-time and correspondence training).

Such a large variety of courses and quality education in both Russian and English Medium is not found in any other medical universities in Russia, which makes Kursk State Medical University the most preferred and trustworthy medical university among other Russian universities.